This is the "Home" page of the "HIST 153: Ancient Roots of Cultural Diversity" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 153: Ancient Roots of Cultural Diversity  

This lib-guide will aide those taking the course Ancient Roots of Cultural Diversity. The course traces history chronologically and comparatively. The course will concentrate on distinct cultural and political responses to world-wide crisis.
Last Updated: Mar 3, 2016 URL: http://hartwick.libguides.com/ancient_roots Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Rebecca Hewitt
Logo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Yager 512, x4453
Send Email

Got Questions?

Got questions? Don't hesitate to contact a reference librarian:

Reference Desk
Library 4th Floor
reference@hartwick.edu

Mike Friery
frieryj@hartwick.edu

Rebekah Ambrose-Dalton
ambroser@hartwick.edu

Rebecca Hewitt
hewittr@hartwick.edu

 

Contact Us

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Beginning Your Research

Reference sources such as atlases, dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent places to begin your research.  They help you to:

  • Identify a good topic and get some basic background information about it,
  • Learn vocabulary or keywords that relate to your topic, and
  • Provide a list of additional sources to consult via bibliography, references or works cited

Use Hartwick's library catalog to identify reference sources on your topic.  Do a keyword search, the use the limits "Collection" and "Reference Collection" on the left side of the search results screen.

Print reference books are located on 4th floor of the library along the right hand wall as you come in through the glass doors.

Hartwick library reference collection image

 

A Sample of Reference Sources in the Stevens-German Library


Cover Art
The Atlas of World Archaeology - Paul G. Bahn (Editor); Barry W. Cunliffe (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection CC165 .A85 2000
ISBN: 0816040516
Publication Date: 2000-08-01

Cover Art
Late Antiquity - G. W. Bowersock (Editor); Peter Brown (Editor); Oleg Grabar (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection DE5 .L29 1999
ISBN: 0674511735
Publication Date: 1999-11-18

Cover Art
The Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome - Edward Bispham (Editor); Thomas Harrison (Editor); Brian A. Sparkes (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection DE59 .E3 2006
ISBN: 0748616292
Publication Date: 2006-08-29

Cover Art
Sites of Antiquity - Charles Freeman
Call Number: Reference Collection DE59 .F73 2009
ISBN: 9781905131310
Publication Date: 2009-11-17

Cover Art
Dictionary of the Ancient Near East - Piotr Bienkowski (Editor); Alan Millard (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection DS56 .D5 2000
ISBN: 0812235576
Publication Date: 2000-03-02

Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of Mesopotamia - Gwendolyn Leick
Call Number: Reference Collection DS70.82 .L45 2003
ISBN: 0810846497
Publication Date: 2003-07-28

Cover Art
Sudan - Dietrich Wildung
Call Number: Reference Collection DT154.8 .S94 1997
ISBN: 2080136372
Publication Date: 1997-04-15

Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of Early North America - Cameron B. Wesson
Call Number: Reference Collection E35 .W475 2005
ISBN: 0810850621
Publication Date: 2004-10-19

Cover Art
The Atlas of Classical History - Richard J. Talbert (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection G1033 .A833 1985
ISBN: 0029331102
Publication Date: 1985-07-01

Cover Art
A to Z of Ancient Greek and Roman Women - Marjorie Lightman; Benjamin Lightman
Call Number: Reference Collection HQ1136 .L54 2000
ISBN: 0816031126
Publication Date: 1999-11-01


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World - Joyce Salisbury
Call Number: Reference Collection HQ1127 .S25 2001
ISBN: 1576070921
Publication Date: 2001-05-16

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip