This is the "Resources for Research" page of the "POSC 380: Regulatory Policy and Administration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

POSC 380: Regulatory Policy and Administration  

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2016 URL: http://hartwick.libguides.com/content.php?pid=426851 Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources for Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

LibGuide Survey

Please take a few minutes to answer some questions about this LibGuide. The library staff is eager to know if students are finding LibGuides useful. Please note that the survey is completely anonymous.

 

Thank you for your responses!

 

Rebekah Ambrose-Dalton

Information Literacy Librarian

 

Assignment One and Three: Tracing the development of a federal regulation

You can start with The Federal Register

The Federal Register is a legal newspaper that is published daily by the National Archives and Records Adminstration.

It contains:

  • Federal Agency Regulations
  • Proposed Rules and Public Notices
  • Executive Orders
  • Proclamations
  • Other Presidential Documents

For extensive information on the Federal Register, visit About the Federal Register at the National Archives Website. NARA also provides a Federal Register Tutorial. These resources include descriptions of what kind of information is available in the Register and on how to locate it. You can also visit the Federal Register User Information pages for more help.


 

You might also want to visit:

Regulations.gov

Launched in 2003, Regulations.gov is a government web site where individuals can participate in the rulemaking process by locating, reviewing and commenting on proposed regulations. Regulations.gov includes regulations that are open and those that are closed for comment, the full text of regulations that have been rejected, and the text of final regulations. You can use Regulations.gov to locate the text of public comments on federal regulations before and  after comment has been closed. The text of the final rule will also include a summary of comments and responses. Once you locate the the rule, you can open the docket folder for information on the number of comments received, the regulatory timeline, and the text of individual comments.

Reginfo.gov

   This web site provided by the Regulatory Information Service Center (located in the General Services Administration), which provides information on the regulatory  process to the President, Congress, agency officials and the general public. The website provides information on federal, state and local regulation. Here you can find the Unified Agenda and Regulations under Review.

 

Using the RIN (Regulation Identifier Number) for your rule, and the name of the agency involved, will help you to locate information more quickly.

 

 

 

Assignments Two and Four: Background Information and Context

For more information on the context of a proposed rule try the following resources:

 

1. Lexis Nexis provides access to news and legal sources. You can search here for current newspaper articles on the issues covered by federal regulation. TIP - remember to use "AND" between search terms - for example "conflict minerals and SEC" or "off road vehicles and national seashore and Cape Hatteras" or "polar bear and critical habitat and United States" - that way you are asking Lexis to locate articles that include each of those terms.

2. Historical Newspapers allows you to search for articles that appeared older editions of the New York Times, the Boston Globe, the Wall Street Journal, etc.

 

3. The Stevens-German Library's Discovery Service provides access to books and articles. See "Finding Background Information in books and scholarly articles" tab on this guide for a list of subject headings covering a variety of topics to use when you search. There are also links to a variety of books that are related to government regulation.

 

Additional Government Information

USA.gov - portal to government agency web sites, also browsable by topic.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip