This is the "Home" page of the "HIST 352: The Crusades" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 352: The Crusades  

This research guide will assist students in HIST 352/452 to begin research for their course projects.
Last Updated: Mar 3, 2016 URL: http://hartwick.libguides.com/crusades Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Rebecca Hewitt
Logo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Yager 512, x4453
Send Email

Got Questions?

Got questions? Don't hesitate to contact a reference librarian:

Reference Desk
Library 4th Floor
reference@hartwick.edu

Mike Friery
frieryj@hartwick.edu

Rebekah Ambrose-Dalton
ambroser@hartwick.edu

Rebecca Hewitt
hewittr@hartwick.edu

 

Contact Us

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Beginning Your Research

Reference sources such as atlases, dictionaries and encyclopedias are excellent places to begin your research.  They help you to:

  • Identify a good topic and get some basic background information about it,
  • Learn vocabulary or keywords that relate to your topic, and
  • Provide a list of additional sources to consult via bibliography, references or works cited

Use Hartwick's library catalog to identify reference sources on your topic.  Do a keyword search, the use the limits "Collection" and "Reference Collection" on the left side of the search results screen.

Print reference books are located on 4th floor of the library along the right hand wall as you come in through the glass doors.

Hartwick library reference collection image

 

A Sample of Reference Sources in the Stevens-German Library

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Crusades - Alfred J. Andrea
Call Number: Reference Collection D155 .A6 2003
ISBN: 0313316597
Publication Date: 2003-12-30

Cover Art
An Historical Atlas of Islam - Hugh Kennedy (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection G5681 .S1 2002 .H6
ISBN: 9004122354
Publication Date: 2001-12-01

Cover Art
Daily Life in the Medieval Islamic World - James E. Lindsay
Call Number: Reference Collection DS36.855 .L56 2005
ISBN: 0313322708
Publication Date: 2005-06-01

Cover Art
The Palgrave Concise Historical Atlas of the Balkans - Dennis P. Hupchick; Harold E. Cox
Call Number: Reference Collection G1996 .S1 H8 2001
ISBN: 031223970X
Publication Date: 2001-10-17

Cover Art
The Atlas of Religion - Martin Palmer; Joanne O'Brien
Call Number: Reference Collection G1046 .E4 O2 2007
ISBN: 9780520249172
Publication Date: 2007-05-07

Cover Art
Late Antiquity - G. W. Bowersock (Editor); Peter Brown (Editor); Oleg Grabar (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection DE5 .L29 1999
ISBN: 0674511735
Publication Date: 1999-11-18

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip